A lesson in gauge (or a sweater to grow into)

E’s aunt (along with many of his other relations) lives in New Zealand and gave me some possum wool for B when he was a baby. I decided to turn this possum wool (Supreme Possum Merino 8 ply) into a very warm and cosy toddler-sized  jumper. I used Sarah Pope’s Twisted Tree Pullover pattern and this is how it turned out:

I love the twisted tree pattern, and it is so soft and cuddly (much more so than a possum I would imagine). I am actually very pleased with it. Except for the fact that, although I attempted to make the 2-3 size, I don’t think it will actually fit B much before he goes to school. It is ENORMOUS! It is, however, very warm, and one snowy day recently B did actually wear it. For a while. Until I couldn’t bear seeing such a disastrous error of gauge being paraded in front of me any longer.

E (wonderfully supportive as ever, where my handknit disasters are concerned) says it is fine as handmade knitwear should be something to grow into. This is a good way to look at it. In a similar vein, J has a pair of hand knit wooly trousers that are far too long (this pattern I pretty much made up, hence the crazy sizing):

They do the job though, and neither he nor I mind that his legs look a little bit odd as long as he is toasty warm when the weather is not.

This entry was posted in Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A lesson in gauge (or a sweater to grow into)

  1. Sharon says:

    It may be big for right now, but the twisted tree pattern is gorgeous! Really lovely.

Leave a Reply

